Why my Best Friend is Awesome OR I’m Not Really a Mercenary

Before I decided to venture out and make this new little blog of mine public, I solicited the advice of my husband and two good friends who I knew would give me honest feedback.  Which on my part, I thought was smart because they also wouldn’t want to hurt my feelings and if they did hate it, they would still tell me they liked it. See – it’s a win-win.

The hubs said he liked it, although he had some constructive feedback on the mercenary part (we’ll get to that later, see second title).  One friend read it and then loved it so much he forgot to give me feedback until I asked about it. But that’s OK, he’s been working really hard lately so I’ll let it slide (for now, ;-)).  And my BFF wrote me an awesome email:

#1 I like it.
#2 I will follow you.
#3 I also find Old Navy disappointing although I always seem to enter with so much hope.
#4 I would still be your BFF if you were a mercenary and I can think of some instances where it might really come in handy.  We will talk more about this over wine and face to face.  I sometimes wish my hands were deadly weapons.  Instead, I suspect, if I swung at someone, I would probably miss. 
#5 It’s PPS (post post script)
 
So shout out to my best friend, she’s awesome and her email was totally the highlight of my day yesterday. I wish we lived closer together and that we could have more talks with wine and face to face.
 
Now on to my husband’s feedback.  I’ll try to recall our conversation for you:
 
Him: “Hmm… you shouldn’t have put that you aren’t really a mercenary in the PS.”
Me: “Why not, what kind of professional mercenary would admit to being a mercenary in a blog?” 
Him: “What kind of professional mercenary would have a blog?”
Me: “I would, it would be the first of it’s kind. And dammit, that’s what I should have called my blog, Mercenary Mommy, let me see if it’s already taken…”
Me: After checking to see if Mercenary Mommy is an available blog name “Shit – it is taken!
Him: “Well, I don’t think a mercenary would admit to being a mercenary on a blog.  I mean, don’t they usually have aliases and fake jobs and stuff? It would be more believable that you weren’t without the PS, because now it looks like you spilled the beans or something and are trying to cover it up.
Me: “But that’s why I put that I’m not really a mercenary in the PS. Because people would expect that a real mercenary would try to cover their tracks.  But now I made it so obvious that I am not, because a real mercenary would cover their tracks better than that, and probably wouldn’t have put it into the blog in the first place.” pause “Because I’m a smart mercenary, see.”
 
Let me just end this by clarifying that this is not an actual recounting of the conversation, and that most of it is probably made up.  True, he did give me the feedback about the PS, but the rest I think I made up in my head.  Sometimes it’s hard to tell.  I’ve been working really hard lately, too. (At being a mercenary… it’s a tough job…or is it??)
2 thoughts on “Why my Best Friend is Awesome OR I’m Not Really a Mercenary

Leave a Reply

