Smells Like Teen Spirit – or in my case, Pre-Teen Spirit

Middle school – the most awkward years in one’s life, I believe.  All of a sudden boys are interesting, girls start wearing makeup and bras, cliques start to form… you get braces which go awesome with your glasses.  It’s just torture.  Looking back, I think the most mortifying moments of my life occurred in middle school. But, it was at this time that I think I really started to discover the kinds of music I loved, rather than just listening to what my parents listened to.  And with that, the Top 5 songs of my middle school years.

5. Digital Underground – The Humpty Dance/Young MC – Bust a Move

-In middle school I went to Cotillion, this dance thing that you had to be invited to, so of course I felt all cool to be a part of it.  They brought a bunch of kids from all over the city together for a spring dance and a fall dance.  Both of these songs would get us dancing like fools.  And Young MC had the best lyric of all time, with my favorite color no less, “She’s dressed in yellow, she says hello, come sit next to me you fine fellow.”  I have that song stuck in my head now, I’m so totally going to have to create a Young MC station on my Pandora so I can jam out.

4. George Strait – Amarillo by Morning

 – I may be confusing this memory with Freshman year in High School, but I think it was 8th grade where me, my sister, my best friend and her best friend decided to sing this song in a karaoke booth at the rodeo.  We were horrible and flubbed the lyrics and to this day when I hear this song, and in particular the lyric “When the sun is high in that Texas sky” I always want to say “When the sky is high”…  It’s one of those things that are only funny to those it happened to.

3. Vanilla Ice – Ice Ice Baby

 – Alright stop, collaborate and listen. Ice is back with a brand new invention.  Something, grabs a hold of me tightly, flow like a harpoon daily and nightly.  Will it ever stop, yo? I don’t know. Turn out the lights, and I’ll glow.  To the extreme I rock a mic like a vandal, light up the stage and wax a chump like a candle.

I could go on, but I think you got the point.  Who cares if he totally stole the riff from Queen (another one of my all time faves) and David Bowie, he rocked it.  Word to your mother.

2. Red Hot Chili Peppers – Under the Bridge

 – I used to listen to this song all the time.  I taped it off the radio (yes, young ones, this was back in the day where you either had to go to the music store – a store where you went to buy music – or listen to the radio all day long and as soon as they started playing the song run to your boom box and record it) and then wore the tape out.  I’m sure my parents thought something was wrong with me.

1. Nirvana – Smells Like Teen Spirit

 – I realize that it is totally cliché to have this song on any Top 5 list.  But the reason that this song always pops up is because it is totally awesome.  There was this girl, I don’t even remember her name, but she was always wearing the doc martins with plaid skirt, rock band t-shirt and colored hair – I’m sure you can totally picture the type.  And I remember the day she walked into class with a t-shirt on that had a picture of a naked baby with his little weenus showing and my teacher freaked out about the baby penis and made her turn her shirt inside out.  And I remember thinking , “I gotta check that band out” and my mind was forever blown.   

There you have it – the songs from the most awkward/embarrassing/uncomfortable years of my life.  But of course I wouldn’t trade them for anything.  Well, maybe for a million dollars.  I’ll enjoy seeing what your favorite “awkward years” songs were!

-Shan

Honorable Mention:

Wilson Philips – Hold On, Michael W Smith – Friends are Friends Forever & Place in this World, Beach Boys – I Get Around, B52s – Love Shack, Kris Kross – Jump, DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince – Parents Just Don’t Understand

7 thoughts on “Smells Like Teen Spirit – or in my case, Pre-Teen Spirit

  1. So, were we in elementary school when we were rocking to Madonna? Couldn’t agree more with your top 5 – those all fit my memories exactly. Do you still have the Amarillo by Morning disaster tape? 🙂

    • Katie, Madonna is totally on my elementary school list. True, she flowed into middle school, but I do believe it was in 5th grade that we put the fly moves to “like a prayer”.

      And I wish I had that tape! No idea where it went… 😦

  2. What was I listening to back then?

    5. Michael Oldfield – Tubular Bells (Sorry for annoying the crap out of everybody with this one!)
    4. Bone Thugs N Harmony – Crossroads
    3. The Crystal Method – Trip Like I Do
    2. Metallica – One
    1. Pantera – This Love

    • Oh I so remember you listening to pantera and Metallica all the time. Used to annoy the crap outta me, but now when they come on the radio I listen to them. Guess I have you and your brother to thank for that!

  3. Love this! And as your little sis, they were of course my faves too! …because u were always right 🙂
    Side note(s):
    Amarillo By Morning always makes me laugh…
    & I remember convincing mom to buy me the Nirvana tape, then feeling like I was being so rebellious playing it in my room. But She BOUGHT me the tape! Haha I’m dumb 🙂

  4. Pingback: Elementary Pop Princess « This is Shan's Blog

Leave a Reply

