“The only true currency in this bankrupt world is what you share with someone else when you’re being uncool…”

Today when I woke up still not feeling any better and sounding like Kathleen Turner on a bad day, I decided to finally call in sick.  After sleeping for a while I moved to the couch to settle in and watch HBO for the rest of the day.  I got lucky, and Almost Famous was on, the movie the quote up above is from. (Great movie and great soundtrack, by the way…)

We, yes we, are always trying to be cool.  Keeping our cool, playing it cool…  How many times have you repeated to yourself in your inner monologue, “Just be cool, just be cool.”? But by playing it cool all the time, I wonder how much of our true selves we are giving others. Are we cheating each other by always trying to be cool?  I think of my two sweet little girls. They certainly don’t want me to be cool, they want me to be their goofy Mommy. They want me to play with them, talk in silly voices, dance around and sing as loud (and as bad) as I can into the Barbie karaoke machine to “Born this Way”. It’s in those moments of dropping my guard and my pretenses, that I am truly “me” and am the best Mom I can be.

This blog is the same. Consider this my true currency, the true Shan.  If you like me… Cool.

-Shan

PS – In celebration of my 25th post I’d like to say thank you to the following folks: The fellow bloggers who have dropped by; pregoandtheloonheidijohannateeny bikini, shalinjena, lesleycarter, bewithus, mastermind, oneanna65, clotildajamcracker, igamemom, onceamonth4 , and my personal fave mandossun. Those that have commented; Dan, Marie, Stacy, Harold, Katie R, Katie M, Casey, Jessica, Maggie, Jackie and Mando. And to everyone else who has stopped by to read my blog, I appreciate all of you and hope you keep coming!

3 thoughts on ““The only true currency in this bankrupt world is what you share with someone else when you’re being uncool…”

  1. “Nerds are the new cool.” I read that somewhere.
    This post reminds me of a song by Band of Gypsys, “Message of Love.”
    I feel like I go through various identity crises on a daily basis. It is when I am with my loved ones that I truly feel free.

  2. Pingback: Lots and lots of “these” “thingys”. | mandossun

  3. Pingback: WILOW – Hiding My Funny « This is Shan's Blog

Leave a Reply

