I Think Charlie Brown is Trying Too Hard…

I hope everyone had a great Christmas.  I hope that you ate too much, got everything you wanted, and spent some quality time with loved ones.

Did anyone else enjoy the Christmas movies as much as I did this year?  When I was little, I looked forward to Rudolph, Frosty, Charlie Brown and Mickey’s Christmas Carol all year.  While I’ve admitted that I’m typically pretty Grinchy about the Christmas season, I’ve always had a soft spot for the movies. There’s a ton of great Christmas movies out there, and you know I love a good list, so without further adieu, my favorite Christmas movies of all time!

7. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer

Who doesn’t love Rudolph? It’s a classic.  And, you must have a heart of stone if you don’t tear up a little when those misfit toys finally get delivered to new homes by Santa.

6. Elf

Will Ferrell.  As an elf.  Pure awesomeness.

5. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation

This one made the list because it’s one of my husband’s favorites, and if it makes him happy, then I’m happy.  I actually never saw this movie in its entirety until after my Senior year of high school.  For our Senior class trip we went to Cancun, and on one of the few English language channels in our hotel room this movie was playing non-stop.  Why National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation was on back-to-back in May, in Mexico, I’ll never know…

4. Home Alone

What’s so fun about this movie was that it was every kids dream come true – to have the full run of the house and do whatever you wanted – and then realize that having your family around is pretty cool, too.  Not to mention he kicks the crud out of Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern.

3. Claymation Christmas & The Grinch Who Stole Christmas (the cartoon, not the lame Jim Carey one)

Not many people remember Claymation Christmas, but it was one that my Mom had taped for us, so we would watch it every year.  I’ve always thought Claymation was/is pretty cool – just the amount of time and effort that goes into creating it is amazing.  Plus it featured the California Raisins singing “Rudolph”.

And, I think everyone knows why I like the Grinch.  I can identify with him.

2. A Christmas Story

To this day I can’t read/write/say the word “Fragile” without my inner monologue popping up to say “Must be Italian”.

1. Charlie Brown Christmas & Mickey’s Christmas Carol

This probably sounds so cheesy, but what I have always loved about the two of these, aside from the great music and characters, is that they both were less about the commercialization of the season and more about the true meaning of Christmas. At the end of the day it’s all about being thankful for what you have, and spending time with those whom you love the most, and who love you right back. (Even when you’re annoying the daylights out of each other.)

But… Charlie should have stopped with the first Christmas special.  The second one, and then the weird New Year’s one were just odd, then there’s the Thanksgiving one…  It’s like he was trying to top himself and we all know that the original is almost always the best.

And… What is the deal with ABC Family editing Mickey to only 30 minutes?  They cut out some of the best parts!  What – they couldn’t fit the full 45 minutes into their packed programming, yet they can show The Santa Clause 3 at least six times?  Ridiculousness…

-Shan

That was the last Christmas post.  Promise.  From here on out I’ll be back to my regularly scheduled programming.

 

 

2 thoughts on “I Think Charlie Brown is Trying Too Hard…

Leave a Reply

