Ode to Oxfords (All button-up shirts, really)

In all of my jobs, I’ve only had one where I had to wear a uniform. Officially…  But I’ve always been the type to adopt one.  You know, the items you put on every day because it’s easy and you don’t have to think about it.

In high school it was jeans and loafers, and those short-sleeved sweater shirts that were so popular in the late 90s…

In college it became jeans and t-shirts featuring characters like Rainbow Brite, SheRa, Transformers – all my idols from the 80s. The kind of shirt you could get at Hot Topic…

And then I discovered JCrew, and we’ve had a love affair ever since.  Pencil skirts, colored khakis, cardigans… they all look great with a button-up shirt. As a career gal, my workday go-to was a button up shirt. Skirt, shirt, heels and I was done…

Two weeks into my new career as Mommy, I’ve adopted a new uniform.  Before, on the weekends I would revert back to my college days, jeans and a tshirt (although I have ditched the Rainbow Brite), usually one of my two faves – well-worn Black Keys and Led Zeppelin t’s. And my first few days of not going into the office that’s what I did.  But my “old” clothes looked so sad.  Just begging to be worn…  So the button-up is back. Jeans, button up, flats… and I’m good to go.

IMG_2646

Doggy photo bomb…
Shirt – JCrew
Jeans – Gap
Belt – Gap

IMG_2773

Same formula – different type of shirt, though…
Shirt – JCrew
Jeans – AG Jeans
Shoes that you can barely see – Coach (and very old)

IMG_2871

Kitty photo bomb this time…
Shirt – JCrew
Jeans – JCrew
Shoes – Nine West

This is my first time linking up with the Pleated Poppy for WIWW.  I’ve been a fan for a while, getting outfit inspiration from the many great dressers that are nice enough to share theirs.  I apologize for the pic quality – clearly I took them all with my phone as the phone is in every photo.  I tried to get my daughter to take them (she just turned 5), but the angle was all weird and I looked fat so yeah, I couldn’t use those. Also, what is up with my flamingo pose?

Peace, Love & Oxfords,

Shan

4 thoughts on “Ode to Oxfords (All button-up shirts, really)

  1. Love all three combinations, especially the last one! Flats, skinnies, and a lose top = fail proof comfort and style. I hate ironing so I don’t wear button-up shirts if I don’t have to, but think I might just start wearing them more often.

Leave a Reply

